Health Consumer Excellence Awards

The Health Consumer Excellence Awards were created to honour the everyday heroes in health in WA, from the administrator to the clinician. We also recognise health consumers who go out of their way to make a difference to our health system.

Nominations for 2021 are now closed. Our Awards Ceremony was held on Thursday 29th April. Due to COVID restrictions, we had to take the difficult decision to make this an online event. On the plus side, this allowed more people to attend, as the face to face event had booked out.

Please download the awards booklet for details on all the 2021 nominees.




Consumer Award

This category is for consumer representatives demonstrating excellence in speaking up for the importance of a kind, patient-centred health care system.  The Award recognises health consumer representatives who have an ongoing commitment to positive partnership with our health system to improve the patient experience.
2021 Winner: Rebecca Carbone
2021 Highly Commended: Amber Bates

Compassionate Care Award

This award is to acknowledge compassionate people working or volunteering in a health service providing support and/or direct patient care. We are looking for compassionate individuals working in any capacity – from cleaner to specialist and everything in between – in the health service or organisation. We are also looking for compassionate teams of health care providers who demonstrate effective multi-disciplinary care. Evidence of compassionate care in the form of feedback letters from consumers and carers will strengthen the nomination.
2021 Winner: Joy Campbell

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Award

This award is to acknowledge outstanding service to Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander health consumers. The candidates can be an Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander person – either a health professional, consumer, carer or volunteer – or an organisation creating real change for Aboriginal people.
2021 Winner: Nola Naylor

Care Opinion Award

For this award category, we didn’t seek nominations – we selected stories from the Care Opinion platform with the new Care Opinion Hero Tag which was instituted one year ago.

East Metropolitan Health Service

Winner: Kalamunda Hospital

Special mention: Armadale Hospital

Child and Adolescent Health Service

Winner: Eating Disorder Clinic

North Metropolitan Health Service

Winner: Women and Newborns Health Service

South Metropolitan Health Service

Winner: Fiona Stanley Hospital (Volunteer Program)

WA Country Health Service

Winner: Bunbury Hospital (Hypnobirthing Classes)


Find out more about the 2021 Care Opinion Award winners here.


Click here to read about 2019 Winners

Click here to read about 2018 Winners

Click here to read about 2017 Winners

Click here to read about 2016 Winners